The feelings are real

The one thing that I relish most about being sober is feeling again. I used alcohol as a way to do the exact opposite, to feel nothing. My anxieties went away, problems seemed to fade, but also, happiness and joy wasn’t real.

Without alcohol in my life, the struggles of everyday life don’t go away, but I am in a better state to address them, to take them head on. But also there is real joy, real life. 

A cup of coffee with my wife, a walk to the park with my kids, powering through a busy day at work.

I am in it, I am getting through it, without the need to escape. I am finally being me and I am living my life.

So today, be you, be amazing, be there for others.

Cheers

-M

Leave a Reply

