Label if you will…

In recovery, recovering, alcoholic, drunk, outcast, liar, self seeker…

The labels that come along with struggles of addiction and abuse are many.  The are easily cast and applied, and sometimes hard to remove.

How I see it, is a label is something that is given to you based on another perspective.  An assumption, a wide net that is cast. Yes, I’m not perfect, yes, I’ve made mistakes, yes, I’ve struggled…

However, your label will not define me…

What’s most important to me is that every single day, I am doing my best.  That I am being honest, that I am nurturing positive relationships, that I am better than I was yesterday.

So label if you will, but, what I was is not what I’m striving to become.

-M

via Daily Prompt: Label

Leave a Reply

