Building My Wall…

IMG_2293Over and over, I’ve heard in meetings, your addiction is waiting, getting stronger, ready to take over at any minute.

Part of me agrees, I know I can’t let my guard down, I can’t think that I can go back to my old ways, because I can easily fall back to where I was.

But also, as each day passes, I am distancing myself from my past life. Building a wall to keep that monster out. Every meeting, every discussion, every story, every reading, every prayer and every 24 hours of sobriety is a brick in that wall. Always growing bigger, stronger, more formidable. All these bricks held together with a mortar of determination, support and spirituality.

I will always be cognizant of where I was, knowing that it will take strength to maintain. However, I refuse to live in constant fear that this beast will so easily overtake me after all of the work I’ve put in and how big my wall has grown!

please share your thoughts and stories

-M

One Comment Add yours

  1. I think that every day we spend Sober is one day further away from that addiction. Yes we have to be aware our triggers and signs of potential falling back but I don’t believe something is just lurking in the shadows waiting to swallow me up again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

