To the Newcomer

Newcomer

To the ‘First Timer’ I could tell when you walked in you were nervous. Your ‘newness’ was even more apparent when you asked where the coffee was. Maybe you are just new to this particular meeting? But as you sat there, I could see your hands shaking; I could feel the anxiety pouring out of you. And when the chairperson asked if there was anyone new, you stood up and introduced yourself. You’re at the right place.

I’ve often heard the old timers say that it’s the new people that keep them sober, but today I experienced that first hand. And as this new person struggled through the hour, I was helped. Seeing a first time meeting attendee reminds me of where I used to be. The fear and despair in their face, the tremble in their voice. It seems that the meeting revolves around them, and maybe it should. I admire the person to walk in on their own accord and realize that their life needs to change. And because of this person being at the meeting today, I am motivated to continue forward.

So, to this new person, I have no idea who you are, but thank you and I wish you the best on the long road ahead.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. ERIC EASE says:

    Absolutely. To the newcomer. The most important person at any meeting. Stay. It gets greater later.

    Like

  2. as a newcomer just 2 weeks ago to my local meeting, this is such a lovely and kind post. I got such a sense of warm welcoming and while I was terrified I couldn’t have felt more welcome x

    Like

Leave a Reply

