A Sober Poem

George Addair

As many thoughts ramble through my head, and as I admitted my powerlessness, the power seemed to shift in the other direction.  I am beginning to regain power, through those around me and a higher power, the following poem is directed towards the power that my addiction had over me and my focus on not letting that power take hold again.

No More!

You crept into my life when my guard was down… No More!

You took my power and made it your own… No More!

You pushed me away from those I love most… No More!

You diluted my dreams and dimmed my fire…  No More!

This is my life now and you will control it, No More!

I appreciate any feedback, thanks for reading!

-M

Leave a Reply

