Sharing in My Sobriety

So, if you would have told me 3 years ago that I would be sitting down to write a blog documenting my thoughts and experiences in being sober, I would have called you insane.  Turns out, I’m the insane one, (I use that term as it is often tossed around in the writings and meetings surrounding alcoholism and addiction.

I titled this blog ‘Simply Sober’ because for many of us who have dealt with addiction, whether personally or with those around us, it is anything but simple.  The actions of the addict and alcoholic are hard to understand.  In the Big Book, we read: ‘Here is the fellow who has been puzzling you, especially in his lack of control.‘ (pg 21)  Us alcoholics seem to create turmoil, anger, pain and confusion in our wake.  But, my quest with these writings will be to simplify these things that are so hard to understand, help me to document my thoughts and feelings, and possibly, be a resource to those who struggle with addiction.

A bit about me, I just gained 6 months of continuous sobriety, for the 3rd time in 2 years, the epitome of ‘progress, rather than perfection’.  I am continuing to realize that a life of sobriety is the right path for me, but I don’t want to get too far ahead of myself, you know, keep it simple.  So I’ll take the next 24, and continue to share my thoughts here.

Lots More To Come!

Leave a Reply

